Skip to content.
MBIE Logo

Learning curve

BRANZ Seminar - Wet Areas

BRANZ studies have identified wet areas within buildings, such as bathrooms, as a potential problem area if the spaces are not detailed and constructed to contain the water, and/or the materials selected are not durable in a damp environment. Excessive levels of moisture, mould and coldness were also identified as significant problems.

The aim of this seminar is to enhance the sustainability of the built environment by discussing the design and construction principles for wet areas to ensure that our houses are durable, healthy, comfortable and safe to live in.

Topics include:

  • defining what is a wet area
  • describing Building Code and performance requirements
  • outlining common causes of problems
  • describing good design principles for wet area spaces
  • detailing the waterproofing systems to prevent moisture transmission and overflow to adjacent spaces
  • selecting finishes and fittings that will remain durable in a moist environment.

This seminar is for designers including specialist kitchen and bathroom designers, builders, building officials, tilers, water-proofing applicators and plumbers.

Date Location
Mon 3 August Invercargill
Tue 4 August Queenstown
Wed 5 August Dunedin
Thur 6 August Timaru
Fri 7 August Christchurch
Mon 10 August Whangarei
Tue 11 August Manukau
Wed 12 August Albany
Thur 13 August Ellerslie
Fri 14 August New Plymouth
Mon 24 August Hamilton
Tue 25 August Tauranga
Wed 26 August Rotorua
Thur 27 August Gisborne
Fri 28 August Napier
Mon 31 August Palmerston North
Tue 1 September Kapiti
Wed 2 September Wellington
Thur 3 September Masterton
Fri 4 September Trentham
Mon 7 September Greymouth
Tue 8 September Nelson

For more information, go to www.branz.co.nzBRANZ website.