Skip to content.

New Registered Architects Board announced

8 Aug 2005: The newly appointed members of the Registered Architects Board are: Chairperson Ron Pynenburg, Brian Elliott, Gordon Moller, Jane Aimer, Donald McRae, Gordon Holden, Carolynn Bull and Deborah Cranko.

Established under the Registered Architect’s Act 2005, the new Registered Architects Board will gradually take over the work currently carried out by the Architects Education and Registration Board (AERB), and the Architects Investigation Committee (AIC). These two other Boards will be disestablished on 30 June 2006.

The Board will make rules relating to registered architects, they will register architects and assess their ongoing competence, and hear complaints relating to registered architects’ competence.

Who are the members of the Registered Architects Board?

Mr Ron Pynenburg, Chairperson

Mr Pynenburg has over 23 years experience in architecture, and is the Principal of Pynenburg and Collins Architects. He is a life member and fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Architects (NZIA), and is also a past president of the Institute.  Mr Pynenburg is experienced in governance matters, and has been a member of the AERB.

Mr Brian Elliott

Mr Elliott has over 32 years experience as an architect, and is currently Principal of Designgroup Elliott Architects. Mr Elliott is currently deputy chair of the AERB, and has been a member of this Board since 1996. Mr Elliott has served a two year term as the president of the NZIA, and is a fellow of the Institute.

Ms Jane Aimer

Ms Aimer is currently the Director of Aimer Naismith Architects. She has been a member of the AERB since 2002 and has been the Chair of the Board since 1 January 2004. She has 25 years work experience in architecture and 10 years as the director of her own practice. Ms Aimer has been extensively involved in development of the Registered Architects Act and strategic planning for transition to the Board.

Mr Gordon Moller

Mr Moller is the current President of the NZIA, and has served on the NZIA council since 2000. He is Principal and Director of Craig, Craig Moller, and has 35 years experience in an architectural practice. His work includes public buildings, tertiary buildings, presidential projects, and airport design. He has been the recipient of 45 Architectural Awards.

Mr Don McRae

Mr McRae has extensive experience in architecture, having over 57 years in the industry. He has worked in his own architecture firm for the past 20 years, designing buildings primarily in the Auckland area. Mr McRae has experience in legal design issues, is a fellow of the NZIA, and was on the NZIA Employed Architects Committee. He has been a lecturer in Architecture at the University of Auckland, and has held community board roles.

Ms Carolynn Bull

Ms Bull is a senior legal practitioner, principally in family law. She has significant experience in Court and private mediation conferences, and a wide range of experience in government appointments. Ms Bull has been nominated as a consumer representative, is currently the Families Commissioner, and was previously the Human Rights Commissioner.

Ms Deborah Cranko

Ms Cranko is a principal of Cranko Architects carrying out commercial, educational and residential projects. She is currently chair of the AIC. Ms Cranko has wide building and governance experience having served on both the Building Industry Authority and Standards New Zealand Technical Committees as well as school and community boards. Ms Cranko is a director of the New Zealand Architects' Co-operative Society, is a fellow of the NZIA, and former president of the Architectural Centre. She is a member of the Trans-Tasman Occupations Tribunal that reviews decisions about the registration in New Zealand of equivalent occupations in Australia. 

Professor Gordon Holden

Professor Holden is a professor of Architecture, Deputy Dean and Deputy Pro-Vice Chancellor of the Faculty of Architecture and Design, and Head of the School of Architecture at Victoria University Wellington. He has over 34 years experience in Built Environment education. Professor Holden is currently a member of the AERB, and has been involved in the committee working on transition arrangements to the Board.